Towards the Brighton Marathon

This article was posted by Brighton Marathon runner Phil Case

Brighton Marathon runner Phil Case

Brighton Marathon runner Phil Case

I ran the Bournemouth Bay Half on Sunday to get some practise running in conditions similar to what I can expect at Brighton. A couple of observations… I am glad I wore sunglasses as it was pretty bright, also many runners were running with handheld bottles of sports drink and taking sips along the way. I think this is a good idea because I struggled to drink the water they handed out in plastic cups. Also the water was icy cold and almost hurt going down!
 
Before the race I went to a shop and had shoes fitted. I discovered I am a slight over-pronator, which means my feet roll slightly forward when I run. The shop assistant kitted me out with a pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 6 shoes – and they felt excellent during the run. I had no niggles at all and my knees felt fine after the run, for a change.
 
Anyone else got any tips? I would love to know about food tips as I had a veggie English Breakfast on the morning of the run which was a mistake. I felt like a bloated whale.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

