Flora London Marathon

Our amazing Flora London Marathon team 2009 have been training through wind and snow all winter, and have been running ‘training runs’ all over the country.

With April 26th just around the corner, and training and fundraising stepping up more than a notch or two, we decided to ask one of our marathon runners, Alex Nicholas, exactly why she has decided to undertake such a mammoth task:

As you can see I’ve always wanted to run a marathon but once I started training for the London Marathon, I began to realize it’s quite a long way! I thought Brixton to Covent Garden might be a good 10 mile run, but it’s only about 4! Distances, I’ve discovered, are rather deceptive.

However running for Find Your Feet makes it all worth it. I didn’t choose to run for FYF for its name (although it does seem strangely apt for a novice marathon runner!) I chose to run for FYF because it is a small organization that offers real hope and opportunity, making sure that donated money reaches those who really need it.

I’m therefore working hard on fundraising. Lots of my kind friends have already donated to my Justgiving page and hopefully lots of people will be coming along to the quiz night and the swing night that I am organizing.

I will be posting brief updates on how I’m doing here, so do visit every once in a while and find out how I’m getting on, especially if you are thinking about doing the same thing next year! And if you want to come and support us on Sunday 26th April, then your shouts and cheers will be much appreciated!”

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

